Cape Ground Squirrels close to Solitaire in th...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been asking myself this question: “What do I really need to be doing?” There’s this whole concept of “opportunity cost” (which is a fancy way of saying: what are all the things I can’t do if I do this instead of that?) and I’m gradually understanding it better and better. The more time I spend on this blog, showing what I’ve learned about media, and about new technology, the more time I realize that I am not creating works of beauty and art that I really want to.

Specialization

This relates to the issue of specialization vs. generalization: should I be good at a lot of things, or focus on what my gifts really are? One story goes that there was a school for animals, and all the animals decided to specialize:

  • the birds learned to swim
  • squirrels learned to fly
  • the caribou learned to burrow in the ground
  • the fish learned to climb trees

For some of the students, certain squirrels and birds, this worked out alright.  For the rest of them, it was just another day in the grind.

This New Technology Geek blog was designed to share insights into things I’d learned, to preserve them for myself and for others.  But, is it more valuable than creating the stories and works of art that are at the heart of who I am?

As one author put it (after being rejected for writing a “marketable book,” rather than one she was passionate about, and being horribly rejected):

If I’m going to fail, by golly, I’ll do it on my own terms!

I think that’s where I’m at right now.  After a fiasco with writing about a topic that I really didn’t know all that much about, making some friends angry, my final realization is that squirrels should climb trees, and…

I’m tired of getting bark-slivers in my fins.


